Academic Council

The Academic Council of the American Jewish Historical Society is an organization of scholars committed to the study of American Jewish history that seeks to support and maintain the highest standards of scholarship in the field. Scholars of American Jewish history become members of the Academic Council by joining the AJHS and participating in its activities.  Members of the Academic Council oversee the journal, American Jewish History, and serve on the committees that award the Society’s grants and awards to undergraduate, graduate students, and scholars.  In addition, the Academic Council holds a biennial Scholars’ conference, and initiate programs, symposia and exhibitions concerned with American Jewish history.  The Executive Committee serves as the governing body of the Academic Council. For more information about how to join the Academic Council of the AJHS, please contact


Academic Council Executive Committee

Chair: Lila Corwin Berman, Temple University
Vice Chair: Marc Dollinger, San Francisco State University
Alan Amanik, Brooklyn College
Michael Cohen, Tulane University
Jessica Cooperman, Muhlenberg College
Rachel Deblinger, University of California, Los Angeles
Roger Horowitz, Hagley Museum and Library
Rebecca Kobrin, Columbia University
Josh Lambert, Wellesley College
Caroline Luce, University of California, Los Angeles
Tony Michels, University of Wisconsin
Shari Rabin, Oberlin College
Nora Rubel, University of Rochester
Ronit Stahl, University of California, Berkeley