Annual Gala

AJHS 2023 Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award Gala
Thursday, October 12, 2023
AJHS celebrated 131 years of the American Jewish Historical Society at this year’s annual Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award Gala, honoring the remarkable careers of documentary filmmakers Lynn Novick and Sarah Botstein and their important, ongoing contributions to American Jewish life and legacy. We enjoyed the magnificent talents of Julianna Margulies, Julia Ioffe, Johnny Gandelsman and Gyan Riley, who joined us in celebrating and recognizing the incredible works and cultural gifts of Lynn and Sarah.
2023 Gala Emcee: Julianna Margulies

Featuring an interview with Honorees Lynn Novick and Sarah Botstein
Musical Performance by Johnny Gandelsman and Gyan Riley
Special Remarks by Julia Ioffe

2023 Sponsors

Sid and Ruth Lapidus

Friend and Arts and Scholars Sponsor
The Knapp Family Foundation

Julianna Margulies

Center for Jewish History
Perry and Marty Granoff
The Karetsky Family
Steve and Nita Lowey
Hedy Zankel

Scott and Dianne Einhorn
Lise Strickler and Mark Gallogly

Gemma Birnbaum
James and Susan Dubin
Martin Elias
Flagstar Bank
John Golden
Hebrew Immigrant Aid Society
The Morris Family Foundation
Nancy and Martin Polevoy
Matthew Saravay
Glenn and Lori Shannon
Jerry Wyner
Leah Joy Zell

The Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award Gala

Since 1986, AJHS has presented the Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award to an individual or group whose contribution reflects the highest values of the American Jewish community.

Previous Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award Recipients

2022 Congresswoman Nita M. Lowey
2020 Jack Weiler & the Weiler Family
2019 Two Generations of the Russ Family of Russ & Daughters
2018 Nicki Newman Tanner
2017 125 Years of AJHS
2016 Larry King
2015 Ambassador John L. Loeb, Jr.
2014 Simon Schama
2013 Avital Sharansky
2012 Harry Ettlinger and the Monuments Men
2011 Ralph Lowenstein and Machal
2010 Seth Lipsky
2009 Kenneth J. Bialkin
2008 Sidney Lapidus
2007 George P. Shultz
2005 Honorable Edward I. Koch
2003 Mortimer B. Zuckerman
2002 Elie Wiesel
2001 Ambassador Felix G. Rohatyn
2000 Sanford I. Weill
1999 Henry Kissinger
1998 Beverly Sills
1996 Aaron Feuerstein
1994 Sylvia Hassenfeld
1989 Edgar M. Bronfman
1987 Armand Hammer
1986 Abram L. Sachar