Emma Lazarus Award Dinner 2019 - Save the Date

2019 Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award Dinner

One of AJHS’ most esteemed collections is that of Emma Lazarus, a strong supporter of Jewish immigrants’ rights and best remembered as the author of the sonnet “The New Colossus”, America’s most enduring poem.

“Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free…”

This is our inspiration for the prestigious Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award Dinner, to be held on December 3rd, 2019 at the Center for Jewish History. We present this award to those who have demonstrated outstanding leadership in the American Jewish community. Last year, we honored Nicki Newman Tanner for her role as the founder and the director of UJA-Fed’s Oral History Project. This year we pay tribute to two generations of The Russ Family of Russ & Daughters along with our Next Generation Honoree—Mikey Pasek. Each honoree this past year has contributed materials to our archives and has brought a fresh and new interpretation of history.  Their work ensures that AJHS not only documents the past but remain vital for the future.

Join Us

December 3, 2019

American Jewish Historical Society
at the Center for Jewish History
15 West 16th Street
New York City

Cocktail Reception and Dinner

6:30 PM


7:45 PM

Dietary laws observed.

Sponsorship Levels

  • $36,000Mother of Exiles
  • $25,000A Mighty Woman
  • $18,000I Lift My Lamp
  • $10,000Yearning to Breathe Free
  • $5,000Golden Door


  • $1,000Individual Ticket

Purchase Sponsorships and Tickets

Tribute Publication Only

  • $5,000Inside Cover
  • $2,500Preferred Full Page
  • $1,800Full Page
  • $1,000Half Page

Purchase Tribute Publication Page

If you wish to contribute to AJHS or the Emma Lazarus Award Dinner without purchasing tickets, please click here.

Previous Award Laureates

2018Nicki Newman Tanner
2016Larry King
2015 Amb. John L. Loeb, Jr.
2014 Simon Schama
2013 Avital Sharansky
2012 Harry Ettlinger and the Monuments Men
2011 Ralph Lowenstein and Machal
2010 Seth Lipsky
2009 Kenneth J. Bialkin
2008 Sidney Lapidus
2007 George P. Shultz
2005 Honorable Edward I. Koch

2003 Mortimer B. Zuckerman
2002 Elie Wiesel
2001 Amb. Felix G. Rohatyn
2000 Sanford I. Weill
1999 Henry Kissinger
1998 Beverly Sills
1996 Aaron Feuerstein
1994 Sylvia Hassenfeld
1989 Edgar M. Bronfman
1987 Armand Hammer
1986 Abram L. Sachar