Emma Lazarus Award

Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award

Among our treasures is the original manuscript notebook of Emma Lazarus’ poetry including her handwritten draft of “The New Colossus” which she penned for an 1883 auction to help fund the pedestal for the Statue of Liberty. Lazarus (1849 – 1887) was a strong supporter of Jewish immigrants’ rights. The Emma Lazarus collection at AJHS includes correspondence, articles, the notebook of her poetry, and published copies of her poems. “The New Colossus” was read at the Statue of Liberty’s dedication on October 28, 1886, and engraved on the pedestal in 1903.

Every year the American Jewish Historical Society presents its most prestigious honor, the Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award, to an individual or group whose contribution reflects the highest values of the American Jewish community.

The Board of Trustees of the American Jewish Historical Society honored Nicki Newman Tanner with the Emma Lazarus Statue of Liberty Award at its 2018 Award Dinner on Tuesday, November 13, 2018 at the Center for Jewish History in New York City. To learn more about the event, please click here.

Emma Lazarus

Previous Emma Lazarus Award Laureates

Nicki Newman Tanner

Nicki Newman Tanner

November 13, 2018

Larry King

Larry King

December 1, 2016

Amb. John L. Loeb, Jr.

Amb. John L. Loeb, Jr.

November 11, 2015

Simon Schama

Simon Schama

November 17, 2014

Avital Sharansky

Avital Sharansky

May 28, 2013

2012 Harry Ettlinger and the Monuments Men

2011 Ralph Lowenstein and Machal

2010 Seth Lipsky

2009 Kenneth J. Bialkin

2008 Sidney Lapidus

2007 George P. Shultz

2005 Honorable Edward I. Koch

2003 Mortimer B. Zuckerman

2002 Elie Wiesel

2001 Amb. Felix G. Rohatyn

2000 Sanford I. Weill

1999 Henry Kissinger

1998 Beverly Sills

1996 Aaron Feuerstein

1994 Sylvia Hassenfeld

1989 Edgar M. Bronfman

1987 Armand Hammer

1986 Abram L. Sachar